French School
of Singapore

Preparing for higher education

PREPARING FOR HIGHER EDUCATION 2018-2019

PREPARING FOR HIGHER EDUCATION 2018-2019

From October 2018, students of Terminale and Première are offered 7 modules to prepare entrance exams in the IEP, business schools and engineering just after the baccalaureate. Note: only certain modules are accessible to students of Première.


Modules can be cumulated insofar as they are not held at the same time: we consider that those preparing for the Sesame competitive exam do not prepare for the entry examination to engineering schools at the same time. However, some modules are complementary. The transversal module "News decryption" should thus interest students who aspire to enter Sciences-Po (Paris or regional IEP), but also business or engineering schools, which expect candidates who are curious and open to the world around them.

Regarding the calendar’s logical planning: we have scheduled many sessions in the first half of the year in order to make students of Terminale aware of the urgency of thinking of their orientation project, and to allow them the necessary time to be completely focused on the baccalaureate thereafter. We have spread the preparation sessions for IEP competitive exam over the course of the year, but we preferred to concentrate the preparation sessions for the Geipi / Avenir / Puissance Alpha and Sesame competitive exams in the month preceding the competitive exams in order to give students time to decide whether or not to go for these, and to put students in the assessment mood so that they feel involved in their preparation. The modules are never made out of too many sessions so as not to overload an already busy school schedule. After registration, students will be required to complete the course, and attendance will be mandatory.

These trainings are provided by LFS teachers or by external speakers who are specialists of the corresponding subjects and take place on Saturday mornings, or during the week, after class (5-7pm or 6-8pm). The dates given below may be subject to change on an exceptional basis: in such a case, enrolled students would be notified via various channels, but in particular via their LFS mailbox.

MODULES DESCRIPTION

Preparation for the oral examination of the international admission procedure of Sciences-Po Paris: 6 training sessions, 3 oral simulations.

http://www.sciencespo.fr/admissions/fr/college-international-admission

This preparation is for students wishing to enter the collège universitaire de Sciences-Po Paris through the international procedure to which LFS students have access. They can apply for one of the 7 campuses of the collège universitaire, but the Asia campus is located in Le Havre (see http://college.sciences-po.fr/). This module consists of an oral presentation session that they will have to take if their file is retained by Sciences-Po, 6 preparation sessions and three oral simulations in English with 2 interviewers.

Note: We recommend that students enrol in this module only if their grade averages in première exceed 15/20 in both dissertation and English. The probability of eligibility with a lower grade average for either of these is very low.

   

Competitive exam preparation for Geipi, Puissance Alpha and Avenir en Physique-Chimie et Mathématiques: 4 sessions.

The preparation for these competitive exams [SL1] allowing access to post-baccalaureate engineering schools will be composed of 2 mathematics sessions and 2 physics-chemistry sessions that will take place in April. The purpose of these sessions will be to familiarise students with the types of questions asked in the competitive exam, and to make them adopt an effective and rewarding method.

Note: registration for this module is not equivalent to registration for the competitive exam. Registration is something that you have to do yourself.


Preparation for the Sesame competitive exam: 7 sessions and a mock competitive exam.

http://www.concours-sesame.net/decouvrir/epreuves-ecrites/

This competitive exam allows you to join post-baccalaureate business schools. Registration for this module is not equivalent to registration for the competitive exam, which is something that you have to do yourself.

Analysis-Synthesis: It consists in working on the methodology of the analysis-synthesis of documents which requires specific skills, since you need to synthesize the contents of about forty pages in 3h... Students are first introduced to the approach for this exercise, then they practice writing a synthesis, after which they go through the mistakes they made with the trainer.

Digital logic: These sessions will make you aware of the expectations of this paper and become familiar with the exercises for the best results.

English: to become familiar with the type of test to be taken during the competitive exam.

The competitive exam will take place in mid-April 2019. The LFS is an examination centre.


Decryption of news: 7 sessions.

This module is for students in Première and Terminale who want to better understand the news by bringing together history, geography, geopolitical analysis and economics, and this way better position themselves in the world around them. We will focus on conflicts, global power struggles, but also on current economic issues. This module should encourage students to be more attentive to news and to read newspapers, by giving them the keys of understanding they were missing. Most schools / universities expect their future students to be curious, open to the world, and they often check it during admission interviews. It is therefore essential, both for personal purposes and to meet the expectations of these institutions, to be attentive to current affairs. External speakers may be asked join to shed some expert light on certain issues.


Preparation for the personality / motivation interview: 2 training sessions, 1 individual interview simulation.

This module is intended for students in Terminale and Première who know that they will have to undergo the interview test to enter the school of their choice, or who would like to improve their ability to react during interviews and to get a better direction in terms of their orientation project by confronting themselves to questions about their motivations and the coherence of their choices. All students should follow this very informative exercise that requires personal preparation to achieve better self-knowledge. The first training session will present the principles of an interview,  in the second session students will be put in small groups, before doing their simulation interview before the jury.


Preparation for the IEP joint competitive exam: 9 sessions and a mock written exam.

http://www.sciencespo-concourscommuns.fr/-concours-commun-1re-annee-

        This module prepares students for the papers in history, general knowledge (contemporary questions) and English of the group competitive exam to integrate one of the 7 “regional” IEP (Lyon, Lille, Aix, Strasbourg, Toulouse, Rennes and Saint-Germain-en-Laye). 1200 places across all institute are available in 1st year, as the outcome of this competition. It is a difficult competitive exam, since the best students take it, and so you have to ensure that you are well prepared. It is possible to take it on Saturday 25 May 2019, in Bangkok. Those wishing to join Sciences-Po Bordeaux may also follow this module, but it is only possible to take the exam in Bordeaux itself.

Note: registration for this module is not equivalent to registration for the competitive exam.


Individual coaching: during the session.

It is about accompanying high school students in Terminale on an ad hoc basis, in facing the difficulties that they experience in their student "profession". The sessions enable them to complete their subject knowledge by helping them to develop on a personal level and to transforming obstacles into resources.

When faced with doubts, loss of confidence, lack of self-esteem, fears, lack of general organisation, too much pressure, difficulties to make orientation choices, demotivation, students need to be given direction. Often, 4 sessions can unblock "problem" situations. The procedure is an individual and personal, it is up to the student to make this choice and to be in touch directly with Ms. Chomienne.

For further information, please contact Sylvia Delannoy: sdelannoy@lfs.edu.sg

DATES, PLACES AND PRICES OF THE MODULES

Training
Dates

Preparation for the file and oral examination of the international admission procedure of Sciences-Po Paris: 6 training sessions, 3 oral simulations. Room E501

Oral simulation (in English or French depending on the chosen campus) with 2 interviewers.

Mmes. Collette, Delannoy, Habrigian, Taylor.

Messrs. Clement, Husken-Ulbrich, Mercier, Pilon.

Open to students of Première and Terminale.

Rooms E515-E514-E501

Fees of the module: 250 SGD

Training

Tuesday 13 November: 6:10-8pm

Tuesday 20 November: 6:10-8pm

Tuesday 27 November: 6:10-8pm

Tuesday 4 December: 6:10-8pm

Tuesday 11 December: 6:10-8pm

Tuesday 22 January: 6:10-8pm

Oral: between 10:30am and 13:30pm.

Session 1: Saturday 8 December

Session 2: Saturday 26 January

Session 3: Saturday 23 March

Preparation for the Sesame competitive exam.

Terminale Students only.

Ms. Habrigian (English), Mr. Gardès (Synthesis),

M. Delcassé (General and numerical logic),

Ms. Delannoy (verbal logic).

Room E201.

Module’s fee: 150 SGD

Date of the competitive exam: Saturday 13 April

Wednesday 13 March: 6-7:30pm (logic)

Wednesday 20 March: 6-8pm (synthesis)

Saturday 23 March: 9-10:30am (logic)

Saturday 23 March: 11am-1pm (synthesis)

Wednesday 27 March: 6-7:30pm (logic)

Saturday 30 March: 9am-1pm (mock competitive exam)

Wednesday 3 April: 6:10-8pm (English)

Saturday 6 April 6: correction of the mock competitive exam.

News decryption

Mr. Husken-Ulbrich, Ms. Delannoy, external speakers. Amphitheater 3000.

Open to students of Première and Terminale.

Module’s fee: 180 SGD

Saturday 20 October: 9-11am

Saturday 10 November: 9-11am

Saturday 24 November: 9-11am

Saturday 8 December: 9-11am

Saturday 12 January: 9-11am

Saturday 26 January: 9-11am

Saturday 23 March: 9-11am

Motivation / personality interview - training and simulation.

Open to students of Première and Terminale.

Mmes. Chomienne, Delannoy, Habrigian, Renaud, Zbairi,

Messrs. Chini, Gardes, Husken-Ulbrich, Pilon.

Rooms E501-E502-E503

Module’s fee: 120 SGD


Preparation sessions

Tuesday 8 January: 6:10-7:40pm

Tuesday 15 January: 6:10-7:40pm

Interview Saturday 19, 26 January or 16 March depending on your availability. Schedule and date sent by mail after survey, 2 weeks before deadline.


Preparation for GEIPI / Puissance Alpha / Avenir.

Students of Terminale S only.

Mr. Bavoux (chemistry), Ms. Reffay (maths), Mr. Varanfrain (physics). Room A505.

Module’s fee: 120 SGD

Wednesday 3 April: 6:10-8pm

Wednesday 10 April: 6:10-8pm

Saturday 6 April 7-11am (chemistry)

Saturday 13 April 7-11am (physics)

Preparation for the IEP group competitive exam.

4 history sessions / 4 general knowledge sessions / 1 English session / 1 mock test in the 3 disciplines on Monday afternoon or Saturday in April-May.

Messrs. Husken-Ulbrich, Olives, Raphel,

Mmes. Delannoy, Habrigian.

Room E515

Module’s fee: 240 SGD

Wednesday 21 November: 6:10-8pm (History)

Wednesday 12 December: 6:10-8pm (QC)

Saturday 12 January: 11am-1pm (QC)

Wednesday 23 January: 6:10-8pm (History)

Wednesday 30 January: 6:10-8pm (QC)

Saturday 16 March: 11am-1pm (History)

Wednesday 10 April: 6-8pm (QC)

Wednesday 17 April: 6-8pm (History)

Wednesday 24 April: 6-8pm (English)

Individual coaching

Open to students of Première and Terminale.

Fee: 90 SGD per session.

Dates and times to be fixed with Ms. Chomienne: cchomienne@lfs.edu.sg



ENROLMENT


A Registration Form is to be completed on the Eduka parent portal (follow the link below) before Friday 19 October 2018 except for preparation modules for the competitive entry exams for Sesame business school and the Geipi / Puissance Alpha / Avenir engineering school. The registration for these modules will only start in February, in order to allow students time to consider. Receiving a registration confirmation email will mean that you have committed. The withdrawal from a module is only possible by email (sdelannoy@lfs.edu.sg) up to 48 hours before the first session. No withdrawal will be possible after this.

A Financial participation is requested and indicated for each module. An invoice will be sent after the start of the session in which your child is registered. Scholarship students can, on request, receive a fee exemption.




REGISTRATION ON EDUKA

https://eduka.lfs.edu.sg/login

Lycée Français
de Singapour

Préparation au supérieur

PREPARATION AU  SUPERIEUR 2018-2019

PREPARATION AU SUPERIEUR 2018-2019

A partir d’octobre 2018, les élèves de Terminale et de Première se voient proposer 7 modules visant à les préparer aux concours d’entrée dans les IEP, les écoles de commerce et d’ingénieur accessibles juste après le bac. Attention, seuls certains modules sont accessibles aux élèves de Première.

Les modules peuvent être cumulés dans la mesure où ils ne sont pas placés au même moment : nous considérons que ceux qui se préparent au concours Sésame ne se préparent pas en même temps aux concours pour accéder aux écoles d’ingénieur. Certains modules sont en revanche complémentaires. Le module transversal « Décryptage de l’actualité » devrait ainsi intéresser les élèves qui ambitionnent d’entrer à Sciences-Po (Paris ou IEP de régions), mais aussi dans les écoles de commerce ou d’ingénieur, qui attendent des candidats qu’ils soient curieux et ouverts au monde qui les entoure.

En ce qui concerne la logique du calendrier : nous avons placé beaucoup de séances sur le premier semestre de l’année afin de faire prendre conscience aux élèves de Terminale de l’urgence de penser à leur projet d’orientation, et afin de leur laisser le temps de se préoccuper plus pleinement du baccalauréat ensuite. Nous avons étalé sur l’année les séances de préparation au concours des IEP, mais nous avons préféré concentrer les séances de préparation aux concours Geipi/Avenir/Puissance Alpha et au concours Sésame dans le mois précédent le concours afin de laisser aux élèves le temps de se décider à passer ou non ces concours, et de façon à plonger les élèves dans le bain des épreuves quand ils se sentent bien impliqués dans la préparation. Les modules ne sont par ailleurs jamais composés d’un nombre trop important de séances afin de ne pas trop alourdir une année scolaire déjà chargée. Après inscription, les élèves seront tenus de suivre la formation jusqu’au bout, et l’assiduité sera obligatoire.

Ces formations sont assurées par des enseignants du LFS ou par des intervenants extérieurs spécialistes des questions traitées et elles ont lieu le samedi matin, ou bien en semaine, après les cours (17h-19h ou 18h-20h). Les dates indiquées ci-dessous pourront être, exceptionnellement, sujettes à modification : les élèves inscrits seraient dans ce cas prévenus par divers canaux, mais surtout via leur boîte mail LFS.


DESCRIPTIF DES MODULES

Préparation à l’oral de la procédure internationale d’admission de Sciences-Po Paris : 6 séances de formation, 3 simulations d’oraux.

http://www.sciencespo.fr/admissions/fr/college-international-admission

Cette préparation s’adresse aux élèves qui souhaitent intégrer le collège universitaire de Sciences-Po Paris par la procédure internationale à laquelle les élèves du LFS ont accès. Ils peuvent demander l’un des 7 campus du collège universitaire mais le campus Asie se trouve au Havre (cf. http://college.sciences-po.fr/). Ce module se compose d’une séance de présentation de l’oral qu’ils auront à passer si leur dossier est retenu par Sciences-Po, de 6 séances de préparation et de trois simulations d’oral en anglais avec 2 interrogateurs.

Attention : nous recommandons aux élèves de s’inscrire à ce module seulement si leurs moyennes de première dépassent 15/20 dans les disciplines dissertatives et en anglais. La probabilité d’une admissibilité en dessous de cette barre est très faible. 

   

● Préparation aux concours Geipi, Puissance Alpha et Avenir en Physique-Chimie et Mathématiques : 4 séances.

La préparation à ces concours permettant l’accès à des écoles d’ingénieur post-bac sera composée de 2 séances de mathématiques et de 2 séances de physique-chimie qui auront lieu en avril. Ces séances auront pour but de familiariser les élèves aux types de questions posées au concours, et de leur faire adopter une méthode efficace et valorisante.

Attention : l’inscription à ce module ne vaut pas inscription au concours. L’inscription est une démarche personnelle.


Préparation au concours Sesame : 7 séances et un concours blanc.

http://www.concours-sesame.net/decouvrir/epreuves-ecrites/

Ce concours permet d’intégrer des écoles de commerce post-bac. L’inscription à ce module ne vaut pas inscription au concours, qui reste une démarche personnelle.

Analyse-Synthèse : Il s'agit de travailler la méthodologie de l’épreuve d’analyse-synthèse de documents qui requiert des compétences spécifiques puisqu’il s’agit, en 3h, de synthétiser le contenu d’une quarantaine de pages... Les élèves sont d’abord initiés à la méthode de l'exercice puis ils s'entraînent à rédiger une synthèse, avant de revenir avec le formateur sur les erreurs commises.

Logique numérique : Ces séances permettront de prendre connaissance des attentes de cette épreuve et de se familiariser avec les exercices proposés pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats.

Anglais : il s’agit de se familiariser avec le type d’épreuve proposé au concours.

Le concours aura lieu mi-avril 2019. Le LFS est centre d’examen.


Décryptage de l’actualité : 7 séances.

Ce module s’adresse aux élèves de Première et de Terminale qui veulent mieux comprendre l’actualité en convoquant l’histoire, la géographie, l’analyse géopolitique et les sciences économiques, et ainsi mieux s’inscrire dans le monde qui les entoure. On mettra l’accent sur les conflits, les rapports de force mondiaux, mais aussi sur des questions d’actualité économique. Ce module doit inciter les élèves à être plus attentifs à l’actualité, à lire les journaux, en leur donnant les clefs qui leur manquent. La plupart des écoles/universités attendent de leurs futurs étudiants qu’ils soient curieux, ouverts sur le monde, et ils le vérifient souvent lors des entretiens d’admission. Il est donc essentiel, à la fois à des fins personnelles, et pour satisfaire les attentes de ces établissements, d’être attentif à l’actualité. Des intervenants extérieurs pourront être amenés à apporter un éclairage d’expert sur certaines questions.


Préparation à l’entretien de personnalité/motivation : 2 séances de formation, 1 simulation d’entretien individuel.

Ce module s’adresse aux élèves de Terminale et de Première qui savent qu’ils devront subir l’épreuve de l’entretien pour entrer dans l’école qu’ils visent, ou bien qui aimeraient seulement faire progresser leurs capacités à réagir en entretien et mieux travailler sur leur projet d’orientation en se confrontant à des questions concernant leurs motivations et la cohérence de leurs choix. Tous les élèves devraient se plier à cet exercice très instructif qui nécessite une préparation personnelle afin de parvenir à une meilleure connaissance de soi. La première séance de formation présentera les principes d’un entretien, puis les élèves seront mis en situation en petits groupes lors de la deuxième séance, avant de passer leur simulation d’entretien devant jury.


● Préparation au concours commun des IEP : 9 séances et un écrit blanc.

http://www.sciencespo-concourscommuns.fr/-concours-commun-1re-annee-

 Ce module prépare aux épreuves d’histoire, de culture générale (questions contemporaines) et d’anglais du concours commun permettant d’intégrer l’un des 7 IEP « de région » (Lyon, Lille, Aix, Strasbourg, Toulouse, Rennes et Saint-Germain-en-Laye). 1200 places environ sont à pourvoir en 1ère année à l’issue de ce concours, tous instituts confondus. C’est un concours difficile, dans la mesure où les meilleurs élèves se présentent, il faut donc s’assurer une préparation solide. Il est possible de le passer à Bangkok, le samedi 25 mai 2019. Ceux qui souhaitent intégrer Sciences-Po Bordeaux peuvent également suivre ce module, mais il n’est possible de concourir qu’en se déplaçant à Bordeaux.

Attention, l’inscription à ce module ne vaut pas inscription au concours.


Accompagnement individuel (coaching) : à la séance.

Il s’agit d’accompagner, ponctuellement, les élèves de lycée du cycle Terminal face aux difficultés qu’ils éprouvent dans leur « métier » d’élève. Les séances permettent de compléter leurs savoirs disciplinaires en les aidant à se développer sur le plan personnel et transformer des freins en ressources.

Face à des doutes, une perte de confiance, un manque d’estime de soi, des peurs, une organisation générale confuse, trop de pression, une difficulté à faire des choix d’orientation, une démotivation, l’élève a besoin d’être aiguillé. Souvent, 4 séances permettent de débloquer des situations « problème ». La démarche est personnelle, c’est à l’élève de faire ce choix et de solliciter directement Mme Chomienne.

Pour de plus amples informations, vous pouvez contacter Sylvia Delannoy : sdelannoy@lfs.edu.sg

DATES, LIEUX ET TARIFS DES MODULES

FormationDates

Préparation au dossier et à l’oral de la procédure d’admission internationale du collège universitaire de Sciences-Po Paris. Salle E501

Simulation d’oraux (en anglais ou en français en fonction du campus choisi) avec 2 interrogateurs.

Mmes Collette, Delannoy, Habrigian, Taylor.

MM. Clément, Husken-Ulbrich, Mercier, Pilon.

Ouvert aux élèves de Première et de Terminale.

Salles E515-E514-E501

Prix du module : 250 SGD

Formation

Mardi 13 novembre : 18h10-20h

Mardi 20 novembre : 18h10-20h

Mardi 27 novembre : 18h10-20h

Mardi 4 décembre : 18h10-20h

Mardi 11 décembre : 18h10-20h

Mardi 22 janvier : 18h10-20h

Oraux : entre 10h30 et 13h30.

Session 1 : samedi 8 décembre

Session 2 : samedi 26 janvier

Session 3 : samedi 23 mars

Préparation au concours Sésame.

Elèves de Terminale uniquement.

Mme Habrigian (Anglais), M. Gardès (Synthèse),

M. Delcassé (Logique générale et numérique),

Mme Delannoy (logique verbale).

Salle E201.

Prix du module : 150 SGD

Date du concours : samedi 13 avril

Mercredi 13 mars : 18h-19h30 (logique)

Mercredi 20 mars : 18h-20h (synthèse)

Samedi 23 mars : 9h-10h30 (logique)

Samedi 23 mars : 11h-13h (synthèse)

Mercredi 27 mars : 18h-19h30 (logique)

Samedi 30 mars : 9h-13h (concours blanc)

Mercredi 3 avril : 18h10-20h (anglais)

Samedi 6 avril : correction du concours blanc.

Décryptage de l’actualité

M. Husken-Ulbrich, Mme Delannoy, intervenants extérieurs. Amphithéâtre 3000.

Ouvert aux élèves de Première et de Terminale.

Prix du module : 180 SGD

Samedi 20 octobre : 9h-11h

Samedi 10 novembre : 9h-11h

Samedi 24 novembre : 9h-11h

Samedi 8 décembre : 9h-11h

Samedi 12 janvier : 9h-11h

Samedi 26 janvier : 9h-11h

Samedi 23 mars : 9h-11h

Entretien de motivation/personnalité – formation et simulation.

Ouvert aux élèves de Première et de Terminale.

Mmes Chomienne, Delannoy, Habrigian, Renaud, Zbairi,

MM. Chini, Gardès, Husken-Ulbrich, Pilon.

Salles E501-E502-E503

Prix du module : 120 SGD

Séances de préparation

Mardi 8 janvier : 18h10-19h40

Mardi 15 janvier : 18h10-19h40

Entretien Samedis 19, 26 janvier ou 16 mars en fonction de vos disponibilités. Horaire et date transmis par mail après sondage, 2 semaines avant échéance.

Préparation aux concours GEIPI / Puissance Alpha / Avenir.

Elèves de Terminale S uniquement.

M. Bavoux (chimie), Mme Reffay (maths), M. Varanfrain (physique). Salle A505.

Prix du module : 120 SGD

Mercredi 3 avril : 18h10-20h

Mercredi 10 avril : 18h10-20h

Samedi 6 avril : 9h-11h (chimie)

Samedi 13 avril : 9h-11h (physique)

Préparation au concours commun des IEP.

4 séances d’histoire / 4 séances de culture générale (QC) / 1 séance d’anglais / 1 épreuve blanche dans les 3 disciplines en avril-mai le lundi après-midi ou le samedi.

MM. Husken-Ulbrich, Olives, Raphel,

Mmes Delannoy, Habrigian.

Salle E515

Prix du module : 240 SGD

Mercredi 21 novembre : 18h10-20h (Histoire)

Mercredi 12 décembre : 18h10-20h (QC)

Samedi 12 janvier : 11h-13h (QC)

Mercredi 23 janvier : 18h10-20h (Histoire)

Mercredi 30 janvier : 18h10-20h (QC)

Samedi 16 mars : 11h-13h (Histoire)

Mercredi 10 avril : 18h-20h (QC)

Mercredi 17 avril : 18h-20h (Histoire)

Mercredi 24 avril : 18h-20h (Anglais)

Accompagnement individuel (coaching)

Ouvert aux élèves de Première et de Terminale.

Prix : 90 SGD par séance.

Dates et horaires à fixer avec Mme Chomienne :

cchomienne@lfs.edu.sg

INSCRIPTION


Un formulaire d’inscription est à remplir depuis le portail parents Eduka (suivre le lien ci-dessous) avant le vendredi 19 octobre 2018 sauf pour les modules de préparation aux concours d’entrée en école de commerce Sésame et en école d’ingénieur Geipi/Puissance Alpha/Avenir pour lesquels les inscriptions ne seront lancées qu’en février, afin de laisser le temps de la réflexion aux élèves. La réception d’un email de confirmation d’inscription vaudra engagement de votre part. Le désistement d’un module n’est possible que par mail (sdelannoy@lfs.edu.sg) jusqu’à 48h avant la première séance. Aucun désistement ne sera possible après.

Une participation financière, indiquée pour chaque module, est demandée. Une facture sera envoyée après le démarrage de la session à laquelle votre enfant est inscrit. Les élèves boursiers peuvent, sur demande, bénéficier d’une exemption sur cette participation.


INSCRIPTION SUR EDUKA